LA court delays

I filed my appeal of the dismissal in January and here it is 6 months later and LA court’s “appeals unit” still hasn’t completed the official record to send to the appeals court. Until they do that my appeal remains stalled. (The staff there has been incredibly rude and I have to wonder whether they’ve tagged my case to get “special treatment”.)

Appeal info here. Trial court info here (case #bc622687)

New initiative deadlines are coming for the 2018 general election starting very soon:

August 22, 2017 – Suggested last day for proponent(s) to submit proposed measure to the Attorney General and request a circulating title and summary.

October 26, 2017 – Attorney General prepares and issues the circulating title and summary (includes time allotted for fiscal estimate); proponent(s) may begin circulation of the petition.

April 24, 2018 – Last day for proponent(s) to file the petition with county elections officials.

May 4, 2018 – Last day for county elections officials to complete raw count totals and certify raw numbers to the Secretary of State.

Looks like I am forced to seek a federal court order allowing the “Sodomite Suppression” initiative to proceed for 2018 because waiting for the state court system is way too slow — I will miss yet another election cycle.

Update: Got notice on 8/11/2017 that Appeals Court is finally ready for my opening brief – even though they still haven’t sent me a copy of the record. Brief deadline is 9/20/2017.